Whitehall Infant School

  1. Year Group Pages
  2. Nursery


Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. There are seven areas of learning and children learn through both child-directed play experiences and adult-directed focus tasks. At the end of the EYFS, children are assessed against the 13 Early Learning Goals. Our Nursery and Reception Classrooms and outdoor areas are carefully organised into different 'zones' which children can spend time in, including: sand/water trays, role play areas, music areas, construction areas, creative areas, writing areas, computers, book corners and 'themed' areas linked to the topic or story that children are learning about. 

To find out more about the EYFS curriculum, click here.