Whitehall Infant School

  1. Parents
  2. Term Dates and School timings

Term Dates

 

School Terms and Holidays 2021-22

 

School Terms and Holidays  - September 2022 - July 2023

 

AUTUMN TERM - 2022

Staff Development Day (Holiday for children) 

Thursday 1st September 2022 

Staff Development Day (Holiday for children) 

Friday 2nd September 2022 

Term starts for the children 

Monday 5th September 2022

Half Term Holiday 

Mon 24th - Fri 28th October 2022 

Term Ends by 12:30pm (staggered finish  times)

Friday 16th December 2022

 

SPRING TERM - 2023

Term starts for the children 

Tuesday 3rd January 2023

Staff Development Day (Holiday for children) 

Friday 10th February 2023

Half Term Holiday 

Mon 13th - Fri 17th February 2023

Term Ends by 12:30pm (staggered finish  times)

Friday 31st March 2023

 

SUMMER TERM - 2023

Term starts for the children 

Monday 17th April 2023

May Day (Public Holiday - school closed) 

Monday 1st May 2023

Half Term Holiday 

Mon 29th May - Fri 2nd June 2023

Staff Development Day (Holiday for children) 

Monday 3rd July 2023

Term Ends by 12:30pm (staggered finish times) 

Thursday 20th July 2023

Staff Development Day (Holiday for children) 

Friday 21st July 2023



AUTUMN TERM - 2023 Provisional 

Staff Development Day (Holiday for children) 

Monday 4th September 2023

 

Here you will find day to day information about school life and activities.

Our School Day

 

Start time

Finish time

Reception

Larch/Spruce 8:20

Cedar/Birch 8:30

Larch/Spruce 2:40pm

Cedar/Birch 2:50pm

Year 1

8:40am

3pm

Year 2

8:45am

3:05pm

 

Below is a summary of a typical school day under normal circumstances.

We have a 'soft start' where children can arrive in class at 8:40am and the school day starts at 8.50am. Any children arriving after 8:50am must be brought to the main school office to be signed in.

The school day finishes at 3.10pm.

Nursery sessions are from 8.30am until 11:30am for morning and 12.30pm until 3:30pm for afternoon sessions. Afternoon Nursery children can be collected from 3:15pm if parents wish. 

Morning playtimes

Nursery and Reception children have flexible playtimes with outdoor play opportunities throughout the day.

Children in Y1 and Y2 have a morning break from 11-11.20am.

 

Lunch

Children in Reception have lunch from 12pm until 1pm.

Children in Year 1 and Year 2 have lunch from 12:30 until 1:30pm.

 

Drop-off and collection

At the beginning and end of the school day, parents should drop their children to their classroom door and wait at this door to collect their child. 

If normal arrangements have to be altered (eg you are delayed or another person is collecting your child) please phone the school on 01895 590112.  This avoids any confusion or upset.

 

Getting to school

To get to and from school, walking is definitely the best option! There are lots of benefits: it’s healthier than travelling by car, it improves the safety of pedestrians and road-users, and it respects nearby residents and parking regulations.